When will SN15 launch? | Live Updates

Starship SN15 Overview:

SpaceX will attempt to launch Starship SN15 on a medium altitude test flight. This follows the previous test flights of SN8SN9, SN10, and SN11, which have all exploded on, or shortly after landing. Live updates can be found below.

You can find detailed information on this test flight in the Prelaunch Preview, coming soon.

Starship SN15 MilestonesCurrent No Earlier Than (NET) dates
Ambient Pressure Test (completed)April 09, 2021 -~12:00 UTC – April 09, 2021 -~17:00 UTC
April 09, 2021 -~07:00 CDT – April 09, 2021 -~12:00 CDT
Cryo Proof #1 (completed)April 12, 2021 -~17:00 UTC – April 13, 2021 -~01:00 UTC
April 12, 2021 -~12:00 CDT – April 12, 2021 -~20:00 CDT
Cryo Proof #2 (completed)April 13, 2021 -~21:00 UTC – April 14, 2021 -~01:00 UTC
April 13, 2021 -~16:00 CDT – April 13, 2021 -~20:00 CDT
Static Fire #1April 19, 2021
Flight April 20, 2021
*pending successful static fire*

Live updates:

April 15, 2021 ~ 14:10 UTC [~09:10 CDT]

The first of three Raptors is currently being installed.

April 16, 2021 ~ 01:00 UTC [April 15, 2021 ~20:00 CDT]

Earlier this evening, all three upgraded Raptor engines (#54,61,66) arrived at the launch pad.

April 15, 2021 ~ 12:57 UTC [~07:57 CDT]

The road closure for tomorrow (Friday, April 16th) has been cancelled.

April 14, 2021 ~ 11:48 UTC [~06:48 CDT]

The road closures for today (Wednesday, April 14th) and tomorrow (Thursday, April 15th) have been cancelled.

April 14, 2021 ~ 01:50 UTC [April 13, 2021 ~20:50 CDT]

Road has reopened,

April 14, 2021 ~ 01:18 UTC [April 13, 2021 ~20:18 CDT]

There is a depress vent from the liquid methane tank and the liquid oxygen tank as well as the nose area. This indicates the end of testing.

April 14, 2021 ~ 00:54 UTC [April 13, 2021 ~19:54 CDT]

The nose has begun to accumulate frost. There are also audible vents from SN15.

April 13, 2021 ~ 23:08 UTC [~18:08 CDT]

Pad has been cleared.

April 13, 2021 ~ 20:45 UTC [~15:45 CDT]

The road has been closed ahead of an upcoming cryo test.

April 12, 2021 ~ 23:45 UTC [~18:45 CDT]

The pad and road have now been reopened ending todays cryogenic proof test.

April 12, 2021 ~ 23:12 UTC [~18:12 CDT]

The final depressurization vent can be observed coming from the vehicle.

April 12, 2021 ~ 22:32 UTC [~17:32 CDT]

Large vents can be observed coming from the liquid oxygen and liquid methane tanks which suggests detanking.

April 12, 2021 ~ 22:25 UTC [~17:25 CDT]

The liquid oxygen tank (bottom) has fully frosted over while the liquid methane tanks begins to do the same.

April 12, 2021 ~ 20:55 UTC [~15:55 CDT]

SN15 has started venting and a frost line has appeared indicating that propellants are being loaded into the vehicle.

April 12, 2021 ~ 18:08 UTC [~13:08 CDT]

Ground venting has been observed at the launch pad site.

April 12, 2021 ~ 17:48 UTC [~12:48 CDT]

All personnel have been cleared from the pad.

April 12, 2021 ~ 16:11 UTC [~11:11 CDT]

The road has been closed ahead of a potential cryogenic proof test.

April 09, 2021 ~ 16:16 UTC [~11:16 CDT]

Road has been reopened.

April 09, 2021 ~ 15:50 UTC [~10:50 CDT]

SN15 showed small vents.

April 09, 2021 ~ 11:06 UTC [~06:08 CDT]

The road has been closed for a possible cryogenic test today.

April 08, 2021 ~ 22:30 UTC [~16:30 CDT]

Fog has descended on the launch pad site and we can’t see the transfer of Starship SN15 from the transfer platform, to the launch platform.

April 08, 2021 ~ 19:30 UTC [~14:30 CDT]

All of the crane “squid” attachments appear to be connected to Starship SN15 and the boom lifts are descending back to ground.

April 08, 2021 ~ 19:20 UTC [~14:20 CDT]

SpaceX workers up on boom lifts are attaching the crane’s attachment chains to Starship SN15’s mounting points. Both boom lifts are still elevated.

April 08, 2021 ~ 18:50 UTC [~13:50 CDT]

Workers are going up on a pair of boom lifts next to SN15 and the crane, to attach the crane’s “squid” chains to the six mounting points on the nose of Starship.

April 08, 2021 ~ 18:00 UTC [~13:00 CDT]

Starship has turned off the public highway and is now at the launch facility. It appears that the “TankZilla” crane is in position ready to lift it later today.

April 08, 2021 ~ 17:20 UTC [~12:20 CDT]

Starship has arrived near the pad. It will soon stop near Test Pad where it will be lifted and later mounted.

April 08, 2021 ~ 16:00 UTC [~11:00 CDT]

The vehicle has begun the rollout to the pad and is out of the highbay.

15 comments
  1. Do you know any of the ¨Hundreds of improvements to SN15 because all I can see is more heat shield tiles.

    1. The upgrades include raptor and avionics upgrades as far as I know.

    2. A new thrust puck,engine version 2.0 and allot of avionics and programming upgrades

  2. Is there any chance sn16 can get fully stacked and have a starship on pad A and pad B or no?

  3. Is sn20 going to have the bottom side fully covered in tps tiles for possible reentry?

  4. Definitely, sn20 is the first orbital prototype and is will possibly go for reentry from orbital velocity.

  5. Great info! just a little suggestion, it would really nice to have a real time clock (in UTC or CDT) at the top of the live updates section. It will make knowing when the updates happened for people live in different time zones just a little easier without time conversion. Thanks and keep up the good work!

  6. I hope some of the improvements work for the engines because on sn8 it turned green,sn9 lost one, sn10 sucked up helium and idk what happend to sn11

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: