Starship Orbital Launch Timeline Checklist [S24 and B7] | Live Updates

This article serves the purpose providing the latest up to date information about SpaceX’s Starship/SuperHeavy Program in Starbase, Texas all in one place. Below are tables with milestones for the current active Ship and Booster, as well as updates about many events in Starbase under the “Live Updates” tab. The “Live Updates” tab is updated as events happening within minutes. Any questions or issues regarding this article can be sent to @AustinDeSisto on Twitter.

Check out the long-lasting test campaign of Booster 4 and Ship 20 here: Will Ship 20 and Booster 4 Fly? (retired article)

Expected Milestones

EventDate

Booster 7 Engine (33) Install

June 11, 2022

Ship 24 Engine (6) Install

Soon??

Ship 24 Thermal Protection System (TPS) Completion


TBD

Booster 7 Rollout

June 23, 2022
Ship 24 RolloutNET June 23, 2022

Booster 7 Cryo Test

April 04, 2022

Ship 24 Cryo Test

June 02, 2022
Booster 7 Engine TestingNET June 27, 2022
Ship 24 Engine TestingJune

Booster 7 Chopstick Lift

June 23, 2022

Full Stack

TBD

Full Stack Cryo Test

TBD

FAA Launch License

Hopefully soon

First Orbital Flight

NET July
CompletedIn ProgressTBD

Live Updates:

June 25, 2022 – 17:44:40 UTC [12:44:30 CDT]:

Ignitor testing.

June 25, 2022 – 17:10:48 UTC [12:10:48 CDT]:

“Lous ignitor test” announcement from the pad.

June 24, 2022

A NOTMAR (Notice to Mariners) has been posted for 15:00 – 03:00 UTC [10:00 – 22:00 CDT] for June 27-30, 2022. Booster 7 is expected to perform engine testing during those dates.

June 24, 2022 – 06:34 UTC [01:34 CDT]:

Road opened.

June 24, 2022 – 05:00 UTC [00:00 CDT]:

Booster 7 is on the Orbital Launch Pad

June 24, 2022 – 03:21 UTC [June 23, 2022 – 22:21 CDT]:

Lift has started!

June 24, 2022 – 02:16 UTC [June 23, 2022 – 21:16 CDT]:

Pad clear.

June 24, 2022 – 01:38 UTC [June 23, 2022 – 20:38 CDT]:

Road closure extended until 07:30 UTC [02:30 CDT]

June 23, 2022 – 19:38 UTC [14:38 CDT]:

Highway 4 is now closed.

June 23, 2022 – 18:40 UTC [13:40 CDT]:

Booster 7 is positioned within the chopsticks.

June 23, 2022 – 17:22 UTC [12:22 CDT]:

Chopsticks are rising up the tower.

June 23, 2022 – 17:00 UTC [12:00 CDT]:

Booster 7 has arrived at the launch site!

June 23, 2022 – 15:45 UTC [10:45 CDT]:

Booster 7 is out if the MegaBay

June 13, 2022 – 17:55 UTC [12:55 CDT]:

The FAA has concluded a Finding Of No Significant Impact for Starship operations from Starbase, Texas!

June 09, 2022 – 21:10 UTC [16:10 CDT]:

Ship 24 in on Highway 4.

June 09, 2022 – 12:21 UTC [07:21 CDT]:

Ship 24 has been placed on the transport stand/SPMTs.

June 09, 2022 – 12:06 UTC [07:06 CDT]:

Ship 24 is being lifted off Pad A.

June 08, 2022 – 00:30 UTC [June 07, 2022 – 19:30 CDT]:

Road opened.

June 08, 2022 – 15:09 UTC [10:09 CDT]:

Road closed for Ship 24 testing.

June 07, 2022 – 02:28 UTC [June 06, 2022 – 21:28 CDT]:

Road opened. Successful testing.

June 06, 2022 – 15:14 UTC [10:14 CDT]:

Road closed for Ship 24 thrust ram testing.

June 04, 2022 – 14:07 UTC [09:07 CDT]:

Ship 24 is on Suborbital Pad A. This marks the first time a Starship has been on Suborbital Pad A since SN15.

June 04, 2022 – 13:24 UTC [08:24 CDT]:

Ship 24 is airborne and being lifted onto Suborbital Pad A.

June 03, 2022 – 02:32 UTC [ June 02, 2022 – 21:32 CDT]:

Road has opened. Successful cryo test.

June 02, 2022 – 21:25 UTC [16:25 CDT]:

LOx (bottom) tanks is fully frosty.

June 02, 2022 – 20:10 UTC [15:10 CDT]:

A frost line has formed on Ship 24.

June 02, 2022 – 17:10 UTC [12:10 CDT]:

Road closed ahead of Ship 24 cryogenic proof testing.

June 02, 2022 – 02:55 UTC [ June 01, 2022 – 21:55 CDT]:

Road has opened.

June 01, 2022 – 23:22 UTC [18:22 CDT]:

Road has closed for more Ship 24 testing.

May 26, 2022 – 16:40 UTC [11:40 CDT]:

Road has opened after a pneumatic proof test.

May 26, 2022 – 11:06 UTC [06:06 CDT]:

Road has closed for Ship 24 testing.

May 26, 2022 – 13:06 UTC [08:06 CDT]:

Ship 24 has arrived at the launch site.

May 26, 2022 – 12:00 UTC [07:00 CDT]:

Ship 24 is on Highway 4 and making it’s way to the launch site.

May 26, 2022 – 11:45 UTC [06:45 CDT]:

Ship 24 is out of the High Bay.

May 13, 2022 – 13:30 UTC [08:30 CDT]:

Booster 7 is on the transport stand.

May 13, 2022 – 12:54 UTC [07:54 CDT]:

Booster 7 is in the air!

May 12, 2022 – 02:36 UTC [May 11, 2022 – 21:36 CDT]:

Road open.

May 11, 2022 – 22:08 UTC [17:08 CDT]:

Depress vent.

May 11, 2022 – 20:22 UTC [15:22 CDT]:

Both tanks on Booster 7 are frost covered.

May 11, 2022 – 19:32 UTC [14:32 CDT]:

Frost has started to accumulate.

May 11, 2022 – 16:06:50 UTC [11:06:50 CDT]:

Near full speed Booster Quick Disconnect retract test.

May 11, 2022 – 15:22 UTC [10:22 CDT]:

Road closed.

May 10, 2022 – 02:14 UTC [May 9, 2022 – 21:14 CDT]:

Road open.

May 10, 2022 – 00:48 UTC [May 9, 2022 – 19:48 CDT]:

Frost is nearly gone.

May 9, 2022 – 21:30 UTC [16:30 CDT]:

Both tanks on Booster 7 are frosty!

May 9, 2022 – 15:55 UTC [10:55 CDT]:

Venting from the top of Booster 7.

May 9, 2022 – 15:00 UTC [10:00 CDT]:

Road closed for potential testing.

May 6, 2022 – 19:45 UTC [14:45 CDT]:

The SpaceX crane has placed Booster 7 on the Orbital Launch Mount. Note: As of the above time, B7 has no Raptor Engines installed.

May 6, 2022 – 13:12 UTC [08:12 CDT]:

Booster 7 has left the production site for the launch site!

April 18, 2022 – 21:06 UTC [16:06 CDT]:

Booster 7 has arrived at the production site.

April 18, 2022 – 20:04 UTC [15:04 CDT]:

Booster 7 is on Highway 4.

April 18, 2022 – 14:20 UTC [09:20 CDT]:

Booster 7 is over the transport stand.

April 18, 2022 – 14:11 UTC [09:11 CDT]:

Booster 7 is being lifted off the Structural Test Stand.

April 14, 2022 – 02:51 UTC [April 14, 2022 – 21:51 CDT]:

Road open.

April 14, 2022 – 22:54 UTC [17:54 CDT]:

Depress vent.

April 14, 2022 – 18:41 UTC [14:41 CDT]:

Methane tank now frosty on Booster 7.

April 14, 2022 – 19:17 UTC [14:17 CDT]:

Liquid oxygen tank now frosty on Booster 7.

April 14, 2022 – 18:23 UTC [13:23 CDT]:

Road closed.

April 14, 2022 – 03:42 UTC [April 13, 2022 – 22:42 CDT]:

Road open.

April 14, 2022 – 03:17 UTC [April 13, 2022 – 22:17 CDT]:

Depress vent.

April 13, 2022 – 23:31 UTC [18:31 CDT]:

Pad is now closed.

April 13, 2022 – 22:39 UTC [17:39 CDT]:

Road is closed. Pad to clear at 18:30 CDT.

Updates from Ambient Pressure Test Pending.

April 08, 2022 – 17:08 UTC [12:08 CDT]:

Booster 7 has been placed onto its stand.

April 08, 2022 – 16:25 UTC [11:25 CDT]:

Booster 7 has been lifted from the Orbital Launch Mount.

April 08, 2022 – 15:00 UTC [10:00 CDT]:

B7 is about to be attached to the load spreader.

April 05, 2022 – 12:50 UTC [07:50 CDT]:

Ship 24 (the bottom part) has departed the midbay.

April 05, 2022 – 03:31 UTC [April 04, 2022 – 22:31 CDT]:

Road has opened.

April 05, 2022 – 01:48 UTC [April 04, 2022 – 20:48 CDT]:

Quad vent from methane tank.

April 05, 2022 – 01:41 UTC [April 04, 2022 – 20:41 CDT]:

Depress venting from B7.

April 04, 2022 – 23:00 UTC [18:00 CDT]:

Frost has started to decrease on the methane tank.

April 04, 2022 – 22:30 UTC [17:30 CDT]:

Frost is slowly decreasing on the LOx tank.

April 04, 2022 – 21:30 UTC [16:30 CDT]:

Both tanks are now full.

April 04, 2022 – 21:13 UTC [16:13 CDT]:

Both tanks a nearing full capacity.

April 04, 2022 – 20:17 UTC [15:17 CDT]:

Frost has also started to form on the liquid oxygen (bottom) tank.

April 04, 2022 – 20:07 UTC [15:07 CDT]:

Booster 7’s methane (top) tank has become frosty and more venting has progressed.

April 04, 2022 – 17:33 UTC [12:33 CDT]:

Booster Quick Disconnect/Orbital Launch Mount has begun venting.

April 04, 2022 – 17:02 UTC [12:02 CDT]:

Venting has appeared in the area around the tank farm.

April 04, 2022 – 16:38 UTC [11:38 CDT]:

Sticks have halted just above B7’s methane tank.

April 04, 2022 – 16:30 UTC [11:30 CDT]:

The chopsticks are rising up the tower.

April 04, 2022 – 15:00 UTC [10:00 CDT]:

Road is closed for possible testing.

April 01, 2022 – 13:45 UTC [08:45 CDT]:

Booster 7 has been placed onto the Orbital Launch Mount.

April 01, 2022 – 13:24 UTC [08:24 CDT]:

The SpaceX crane has lifted Booster 7.

March 31, 2022 – 12:25 UTC [07:25 CDT]:

Booster 7 has arrived at the Orbital Launch Site! Rollout time approx. 1 hour 12 minutes.

March 31, 2022 – 11:13 UTC [06:13 CDT]:

Booster 7 is on Highway 4.

March 25, 2022 – 21:32 UTC [16:32 CDT]:

Booster 7 is back IN the High Bay.

March 25, 2022 – 19:30 UTC [14:30 CDT]:

Booster 7 back OUT of the High Bay.

March 25, 2022 – 16:58 UTC [11:58 CDT]:

Booster 7 is back IN the High Bay.

March 25, 2022 – 16:26 UTC [11:26 CDT]:

Booster 7 is out of the High Bay.

March 25, 2022 – 13:45 UTC [08:45 CDT]:

Booster 7 has been unhooked from the High Bay crane.

Ship 24 Overview:

Ship 24 is the latest Starship prototype with hopes of supporting an orbital demonstration flight. Ship 24 has heat tiles covering the entire windward side of the vehicle which will ensure its ability to reenter the atmosphere safely. It is expected that Ship 24 will undergo a test campaign ahead of an orbital flight.

Ship 24 MilestonesDates
Ambient Pressure Test #1Completed on May 26, 2022
Ambient Pressure Test #2Completed on June 01, 2022 CDT
Cryo Proof #1June 02, 2022 – 20:10 UTC [15:10 CDT]
to
June 03, 2022 – 02:32 UTC [June 02, 2022 – 21:32 CDT]:
Thrust Ram/Cryo TestJune 06, 2022 – 15:14 UTC [10:14 CDT]
to
June 07, 2022 – 02:28 UTC [June 06, 2022 – 21:28 CDT]:
Cryo Proof #2June 07, 2022 – 15:09 UTC [10:09 CDT]
to
June 08, 2022 – 00:30 UTC [June 07, 2022 – 19:30 CDT]:
Static Fire #1TBD

Booster 7 Overview:

Booster 7 is the latest Super Heavy prototype that will undergo testing ahead of an orbital flight. Booster 7 (B7) is able to host 33 Raptor engines. Combined with Ship 24, Booster 7 could be the first booster prototype to launch a Starship to orbit.

Booster 7 MilestonesDates
Ambient Pressure Test Completed on April 12, 2022
Cryo Proof #1April 04, 2022 – 20:07 UTC [15:07 CDT]
to
April 05, 2022 – 01:41 UTC [April 04, 2022 – 20:41 CDT]:
Tank Testing #3April 13, 2022 – 23:31 UTC [18:31 CDT]
to
April 14, 2022 – 03:17 UTC [April 14, 2022 – 22:17 CDT]:
Cryo Proof #2April 14, 2022 – 19:17 UTC [14:17 CDT]
to
April 14, 2022 – 22:54 UTC [17:54 CDT]:
Cryo Proof #3May 9, 2022 – 21:30 UTC [16:30 CDT]
to
May 10, 2022 – 00:48 UTC [May 9, 2022 – 19:48 CDT]:
Cryo Proof #4May 11, 2022 – 19:42 UTC [14:32 CDT]
to
May 10, 2022 – 22:08 UTC [17:08 CDT]:
Static Fire #1TBD

4 comments
  1. How often are you updating this page? I don’t see any more items required by Starbase on this page.

  2. Thanks for reworking the dates and themes – this is SO much an improvement! Good job.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: