When is Starship’s first Orbital Launch? | Live Updates

This article serves the purpose providing the latest up to date information about SpaceX’s Starship/SuperHeavy Program in Starbase, Texas all in one place. Below are tables with milestones for the furthest along Starship and furthest along booster, as well as the milestones for the major events not related to the vehicles titled “Starbase Readiness”. Any questions or issues regarding this article can be sent to @AustinDeSisto on Twitter.

Starbase Readiness:

MilestonesDate of Event
FAA Environmental Assessment ReleaseSeptember 17, 2021
FAA Environmental Assessment Public Comment Hearing #1October 18, 2021 – 23:00 UTC [18:00 CDT]
FAA Environmental Assessment Public Comment Hearing #2October 20, 2021 – 23:00 UTC [18:00 CDT]
FAA Environmental Assessment ConclusionNET February 28, 2022
TBD

Ship 20 Overview:

Ship 20 is the first Starship prototype with hopes of supporting an orbital demonstration flight. Ship 20 has heat tiles covering the entire windward side of the vehicle which will ensure its ability to reenter the atmosphere safely. It is expected that Ship 20 will undergo a test campaign ahead of an orbital flight.

Ship 20 MilestonesCurrent No Earlier Than (NET) dates
Ambient Pressure Test (completed)September 27, 2021 – ~20:00 – 00:30 UTC [15:00 – 19:30 CDT]
Cryo Proof #1(completed)September 28, 2021 01:15 – 02:15 UTC [September 27, 2021 20:15 – 21:15 CDT]
Cryo Proof #2 (completed)September 28, 2021 01:00 – 04:38 UTC [September 27, 2021 20:00 – 23:38 CDT]
RVAC Preburner TestOctober 19, 2021 – 04:39 UTC [October 18, 2021 – 23:39 CDT]
Static Fire #1 RVAC (completed)October 22, 2021 – 00:16:14 UTC [October 21, 2021 – 19:16:14 CDT]
Static Fire #2 (completed)October 22, 2021 – 02:18:23 UTC [October 21, 2021 – 20:18:23 CDT]
Six Engine Preburner TestNovember 12, 2021 – 17:20:59 UTC [11:20:59 CST]
Six Engine Static Fire November 12, 2021 – 18:13:41 UTC [12:13:41 CST]
Static Fire #4December 29, 2021 – 18:05:33 UTC [12:05:33 CST]
Static Fire #5TBD

Booster 4 Overview:

Booster 4 is the first Super Heavy prototype that will undergo testing ahead of an orbital flight. Booster 4 (B4) is able to host 29 Raptor engines which have all previously been installed. It is unknown exactly how many engines are currently installed. At this time, the test campaign for B4 is unknown.

Booster 4 MilestonesCurrent No Earlier Than (NET) dates
Ambient Pressure TestTBD
Cryo ProofDecember 17, 2021 14:00 – 20:00 UTC [December 17, 2021 08:00 – 14:00 CST]
Cryo Proof #2December 17, 2021 20:05 – 21:02 UTC [December 17, 2021 14:05 – 15:02 CST]
Static Fire #1TBD

Live Updates:

December 30, 2021 – 02:10 UTC [December 29, 2021 – 19:10 CST]:

Road opened.

December 29, 2021 – 22:51 UTC [16:51 CST]:

Big depress vent with a closure extension.

December 29, 2021 – 22:04 UTC [16:04 CST]:

There seems to be an aborted static fire?? Or???

December 29, 2021 – 21:52 UTC [15:52 CST]:

Siren!

December 29, 2021 – 21:44 UTC [15:44 CST]:

Engine Chill has started.

December 29, 2021 – 21:25 UTC [15:25 CST]:

Prop load has begun!

December 29, 2021 – 21:00 UTC [15:00 CST]:

SpaceX is going for yet another static fire as the recondenser has started again.

December 29, 2021 – 18:05:33 UTC [12:05:33 CST]:

STATIC FIRE!

December 29, 2021 – 17:54 UTC [11:54 CST]:

Siren!

December 29, 2021 – 17:50 UTC [11:50 CST]:

Engine chill has started.

December 29, 2021 – 17:30 UTC [11:30 CST]:

The suborbital tank farm is active and Ship 20 is getting frosty!

December 29, 2021 – 16:00 UTC [10:00 CST]:

The road is closed ahead of a potential Ship 20 static fire later today.

December 28, 2021 – 19:24 UTC [13:24 CST]:

Road has reopened.

December 28, 2021 – 18:26 UTC [12:26 CST]:

Final pad clearing operations are in place!

December 28, 2021 – 16:53 UTC [10:53 CST]:

The road has been closed in preparation of today’s potential Ship 20 static fire attempt.

[Missing Updates to be added here shortly]

December 22, 2021 – 18:50 UTC [12:50 CST]:

Depress vent started again and stopped. Seems to be intermittent currently, so not a full depress yet.

December 22, 2021 – 18:47 UTC [12:47 CST]:

Downward facing depress vent has started and stopped in spurts in just 52 seconds.

December 22, 2021 – 18:11 UTC [12:11 CST]:

A big vent is visible from the Orbital Launch Pad.

December 22, 2021 – 18:05 UTC [12:05 CST]:

The upper (methane) tank is getting frosty as well!

December 22, 2021 – 18:00 UTC [12:00 CST]:

There are record setting amounts of cryogenic liquid in the LOx tank!

December 22, 2021 – 17:30 UTC [11:30 CST]:

Frost is continuing to climb up the vehicle in the LOx tank. A reminder that the tank is being filled with liquid nitrogen (LN2).

December 22, 2021 – 16:50 UTC [10:50 CST]:

Frost is beginning to form on the bottom (LOx) tank.

December 22, 2021 – 15:42 UTC [09:42 CST]:

Venting from the Orbital Launch Pad has begun.

December 22, 2021 – 14:39 UTC [08:39 CST]:

A sheriff has arrived at the road closure point. Test window opens at 16:00 UTC (10:00 CST).

December 21, 2021 – 23:32 UTC [17:32 CST]:

Road is opened.

December 21, 2021 – 21:19 UTC [15:19 CST]:

Frost has been observed slowly increasing on the bottom (LOx tank) for about the past 15 minutes then decreased again.

December 21, 2021 – 21:14 UTC [15:14 CST]:

Detanking vents have concluded.

December 21, 2021 – 21:02 UTC [15:02 CST]:

Depress venting has started.

December 21, 2021 – 20:05 UTC [14:05 CST]:

Frost has started to form on the top of the vehicle (methane tank).

December 21, 2021 – 17:13 UTC [11:13 CST]:

Road is now closed.

December 17, 2021 – 20:55 UTC [14:55 CST]:

Frost has disappeared and there is venting from the top of the booster, from the top of the lower tanks, and from the Orbital Launch Mount. It seems likely that the booster is depressurizing.

December 17, 2021 – 20:00 UTC [14:00 CST]:

Frost has now disappeared from the upper tank. Frost continues to be visible on the oxygen (lower) tank as testing of the booster tanks and the orbital launch mount continues.

December 17, 2021 – 19:27 UTC [13:27 CST]:

Frost is now forming around the upper (methane) tank on the booster.

December 17, 2021 – 18:43 UTC [12:43 CST]:

Road closure has been extended three more hours until 23:00 UTC [17:00 CST].

December 17, 2021 – 18:40 UTC [12:40 CST]:

Frost is beginning to accumulate on the bottom of B4.

December 17, 2021 – 18:35 UTC [12:35 CST]:

There are increasing amounts of condensation from below the booster. This indicates that liquid nitrogen is beginning to load into the booster.

December 17, 2021 – 18:27 UTC [12:27 CST]:

Purging has stopped momentarily.

December 17, 2021 – 16:54 UTC [10:54 CST]:

There is some large purging at the bottom of the table.

December 17, 2021 – 16:30 UTC [10:30 CST]:

After some time, the Orbital Tank Farm is ramping up activity and liquid nitrogen is beginning to flow to the Orbital Launch Table.

December 17, 2021 – 13:56 UTC [07:56 CST]:

Road is closed ahead of a Booster 4 cryogenic proof test.

December 13, 2021 – 18:18 UTC [12:18 CST]:

B4 is on the orbital launch mount.

December 13, 2021 – 18:15 UTC [12:15 CST]:

B4 is lowering into place on the orbital launch mount.

December 13, 2021 – 17:30 UTC [11:30 CST]:

Booster 4 has started its lift onto the orbital launch mount.

December 8, 2021 – 17:30 UTC [11:30 CST]:

Booster 5 is arriving at its new home next to SN15 and SN16.

December 8, 2021 – 16:40 UTC [10:40 CST]:

At this point, B5 has wiggled its way behind the STARBASE sign and is positioned in the propellant production site.

December 8, 2021 – 15:40 UTC [09:40 CST]:

B5 has turned on Highway 4 WEST. That is traveling away from the launch site.

December 8, 2021 – 15:25 UTC [09:25 CST]:

The next booster, Booster 5, is rolling out of the highbay!

December 2, 2021 – 20:45 UTC [14:45 CST]:

Update on today’s road closure: The road closure has been extended to 10 pm CST (December 3, 2021 at 04:00 UTC). The Orbital Tank Farm and test tank B2.1 are frosty and venty.

December 2, 2021 – 00:57 UTC [December 1, 2021 – 18:57 CST]:

Road has reopened after Test tank B2.1 underwent numerous tests and the orbital tank farm showed great signs of activity.

December 1, 2021 – 21:49 UTC [15:49 CST]:

S20 is experiencing some venting from its nose.

December 1, 2021 – 19:19 UTC [13:19 CST]:

Engine test was aborted! Awaiting possible recycle.

December 1, 2021 – 19:16 UTC [13:16 CST]:

Still awaiting ignition of the engines.

December 1, 2021 – 18:57 UTC [12:57 CST]:

T-10min Siren!

December 1, 2021 – 18:06 UTC [12:06 CST]:

Engine chill has started.

December 1, 2021 – 17:51 UTC [11:51 CST]:

The tank farm has started to become active with substantial amounts of venting.

December 1, 2021 – 16:45 UTC [10:45 CST]:

Road is closed and pad is clear ahead of a static fire test later today. Window is from December 1, 2021 – 16:00 UTC to December 2, 2021 – 00:00 UTC [December 1, 2021 – 10:00 CST – 18:00 CST].

November 30, 2021 – 22:09 UTC [16:09 CST]:

An alert notice has been received for a possible static fire tomorrow.

November 29, 2021 – 17:35 UTC [11:35 CST]:

Three road closures have been added for December 2nd, 3rd, and 6th. More details here: Cameron County SpaceX.

November 12, 2021 – 18:17 UTC [12:17 CST]:

Detanking.

November 12, 2021 – 18:13:41 UTC [12:13:41 CST]:

Static fire of all six engines! That is a first.

November 12, 2021 – 18:06 UTC [12:06 CST]:

Siren!

November 12, 2021 – 17:41:15 UTC [11:41:15 CST]:

Aborted static fire of all six engines.

November 12, 2021 – 17:20:59 UTC [11:20:59 CST]:

Preburner Test!

November 12, 2021 – 17:02 UTC [11:02 CST]:

Engine chill.

November 12, 2021 – 16:47 UTC [10:47 CST]:

A frost ring has formed on the bottom of the rocket.

November 12, 2021 – 16:24 UTC [10:24 CST]:

Venting from the skirt is visible. The bottom is getting cold as fuel begins to fill the tanks.

November 12, 2021 – 16:20 UTC [10:20 CST]:

Propellant loading has started. The lines leading to the vehicle have chilled.

November 12, 2021 – 16:04 UTC [10:04 CST]:

Recondenser on.

November 12, 2021 – 14:15 UTC [8:15 CST]:

Pad clear in 30 minutes.

November 12, 2021 – 02:17 UTC [November 11, 2021 – 20:17 CST]:

An alert notice has been received for a potential static fire tomorrow morning.

October 22, 2021 – 02:21 UTC [October 21, 2021 – 20:21 CDT]:

Short depress vent after a good looking night of testing.

October 22, 2021 – 02:18:23 UTC [October 21, 2021 – 20:18:23 CDT]:

Ship 20 has fired its engines for a second time!

October 22, 2021 – 02:15 UTC [October 21, 2021 – 20:15 CDT]:

Standing by for a potential second static fire, which is imminent.

October 22, 2021 – 00:16:14 UTC [October 21, 2021 – 19:16:14 CDT]:

Ship 20 has completed its first ever static fire.

October 22, 2021 – 00:06 UTC [October 21, 2021 – 19:06 CDT]:

Siren!

October 22, 2021 – 00:00 UTC [October 21, 2021 – 19:00 CDT]:

Engine chill had started on the hour!

October 21, 2021 – 23:47 UTC [18:47 CDT]:

Condensation is approaching the vehicle. Propellant loading has started!

October 21, 2021 – 23:36 UTC [18:36 CDT]:

The tank farm has started to become active, indicating that propellant loading will begin momentarily.

October 21, 2021 – 23:31 UTC [18:31 CDT]:

Recondenser on.

October 21, 2021 – 22:45 UTC [17:45 CDT]:

Road is closed and pad is clear ahead of a static fire tonight!

October 20, 2021 – 15:15 UTC [10:15 CDT]:

Chopsticks are nearing their position on the tower.

October 20, 2021 – 13:26 UTC [08:26 CDT]:

Chopsticks are in the air.

October 19, 2021 – 23:23 UTC [17:23 CDT]:

Chopsticks have been set back down.

October 19, 2021 – 17:26 UTC [12:26 CDT]:

An alert notice for a potential static fire tonight has been received.

October 19, 2021 – 16:30 UTC [11:30 CDT]:

The chopsticks are in the air!

October 19, 2021 – 05:29 UTC [00:29 CDT]:

Road and beach now open.

October 19, 2021 – 04:42 UTC [October 18, 2021 – 23:42 CDT]:

Depress vent.

October 19, 2021 – 04:39 UTC [October 18, 2021 – 23:39 CDT]:

Preburner test!

October 19, 2021 – 04:31 UTC [October 18, 2021 – 23:31 CDT]:

SIREN.

October 19, 2021 – 04:01 UTC [October 18, 2021 – 23:01 CDT]:

Recondenser active again. Tank farm fairly active.

October 19, 2021 – 03:46 UTC [October 18, 2021 – 22:46 CDT]:

Recondenser activity has stopped.

October 19, 2021 – 03:28 UTC [October 18, 2021 – 22:28 CDT]:

Recondenser has started.

October 19, 2021 – 02:45 UTC [October 18, 2021 – 21:45 CDT]:

The road and beach are now closed ahead of expected testing of Ship 20.

October 18, 2021 – 11:45 UTC [06:45 CDT]:

Alert notice for static fire later today has been received. With more Raptors having been transported, a static fire is more likely today than previous attempts.

October 15, 2021 – 01:58 UTC [October 14, 2021 – 20:58 CDT]:

Cars are heading back to the pad. Road and beach now open after a pneumatic proof test.

October 15, 2021 – 00:21 UTC [October 14, 2021 – 19:21 CDT]:

Road has closed and the pad is clear.

October 14, 2021 – 01:09 UTC [October 13, 2021 – 20:09 CDT]:

Alert notice for a static fire tomorrow received.

October 13, 2021 – 11:20 UTC [16:20 CDT]:

Road closure for today cancelled. Next opportunity tomorrow.

September 30, 2021 – 05:44 UTC [00:44 CDT]:

Road and beach now open. Proofing was a success.

September 30, 2021 – 04:38 UTC [September 29, 2021 23:38 CDT]:

Depress vent.

September 30, 2021 – 01:35 UTC [September 29, 2021 20:35 CDT]:

Frost is visible in the upper methane tank.

September 30, 2021 – 01:02 UTC [September 29, 2021 20:02 CDT]:

Frost is visible in the lower LOX tank due being filled with liquid nitrogen.

September 30, 2021 – 01:00 UTC [September 29, 2021 20:00 CDT]:

Update at 20:00 local: Vents have been observed from the tank farm and proofing is underway.

September 29, 2021 – 22:51 UTC [17:51 CDT]

Road and beach have closed ahead of expected testing.

September 28, 2021 – 23:57 UTC [18:57 CDT]

The road has reopened. No testing tonight.

September 28, 2021 – 20:00 UTC [15:00 CDT]

The road has been closed ahead of expected testing.

September 28, 2021 – 02:15 UTC [September 27, 2021 21:15 CDT]:

Road and beach are now open. Testing has concluded.

September 28, 2021 – 02:00 UTC [September 27, 2021 21:00 CDT]:

Increased condition on LOX tank. In addition, a SpaceX drone has been spotted.

September 28, 2021 – 01:39 UTC [September 27, 2021 20:39 CDT]:

LOX tank venting.

September 28, 2021 – 01:35 UTC [September 27, 2021 20:35 CDT]:

Less venting from the vehicle now, more spirts and clouds from the tank farm. Small amounts of condensation observed before activity dwindled.

September 28, 2021 – 01:15 UTC [September 27, 2021 20:15 CDT]:

Large amounts of venting are starting to be seen from beneath the vehicle. This venting is the liquid nitrogen boiling off as it reaches ambient temperatures.

September 27, 2021 – 19:40 UTC [14:40 CDT]:

The road has closed ahead of Ship 20 testing.

September 7, 2021 – 14:34 UTC [09:34 CDT]:

B4 has arrived at the pad.

September 7, 2021 – 13:15 UTC [08:15 CDT]:

Booster 4 is on its way to the launch pad.

August 26, 2021 – 01:16 UTC [August 25, 2021 20:16 CDT]:

Road and beach are now open.

August 25, 2021 – 22:15 UTC [17:15 CDT]:

Venting has been observed from the test tank.

August 25, 2021 – 22:00 UTC [17:00 CDT]:

The road and beach are closed ahead of expected testing this evening. Testing will occur for the small GSE test tank near Pad A. This is an pressure test.

[Ship 20] August 17, 2021 – 23:15 UTC [18:15 CDT]:

S20 has been mounted on Test Stand B.

[Ship 20] August 17, 2021 22:54 UTC [17:54 CDT]:

Ship 20 is being lifted onto Test Stand B!

[Ship 20] August 17, 2021 19:40 UTC [14:40 CDT]:

The crane is being attached to S20 in preparation to be mounted to Test Stand B.

[Ship 20] August 17, 2021 18:24 UTC [13:24 CDT]:

S20 is moving around the launch site in preparation for testing.

[Ship 20] August 13, 2021 17:00 UTC [12:00 CDT]:

Ship 20 has left the public road and has arrived at the launch site. It is being followed by a parade of boom lifts.

[Ship 20] August 13, 2021 15:42 UTC [10:42 CDT]:

Ship 20 has made it out of the production site and onto the public road.

[Ship 20] August 13, 2021 15:25 UTC [10:25 CDT]:

Ship 20 has begun its roll out to the launch site from the construction site.

[Booster 4] August 11, 2021 17:00 UTC [12:00 CDT]:

Booster 4 has entered the high bay.

[Booster 4] August 11, 2021 13:30 UTC [08:30 CDT]:

Booster 4 is now on the public road back to the production site.

[Booster 4] August 10, 2021 20:13 UTC [15:38 CDT]:

Booster 4 is moving.

[Booster 4] August 10, 2021 20:13 UTC [15:13 CDT]:

The load spreader has been detached from B4.

[Booster 4] August 10, 2021 14:00 UTC [09:00 CDT]:

B4 is on the Self Propelled Mobile Transporters. The load spreader is still attached.

[Booster 4] August 10, 2021 12:45 UTC [07:45 CDT]:

Booster 4 is being lifted off the OLT.

[Ship 20] August 7, 2021 16:15 UTC [11:15 CDT]:

Ship 20’s Raptor Vacuum engines are being removed.

[Ship 20] August 6, 2021 18:24 UTC [13:24 CDT]:

The high bay is now occupied again by S20.

[Ship 20] August 6, 2021 18:17 UTC [13:17 CDT]:

S20 has arrived back at the production site!

[Ship 20] August 6, 2021 17:10 UTC [12:10 CDT]:

S20 is on the road and headed back to the production site.

[Ship 20] August 6, 2021 16:56 UTC [11:56 CDT]:

The squid has been disconnected from S20.

[Ship 20] August 6, 2021 14:46 UTC [09:46 CDT]:

Ship 20 has descended onto the transporter mount and is preparing for rollback.

[Ship 20] August 6, 2021 14:01 UTC [09:01 CDT]:

S20 has detached from B4 and it being lowered to the transport platform.

[Ship 20] August 6, 2021 13:09 UTC [08:09 CDT]:

People lifters are descending. S20 is mated with B4. Crane remains attached.

[Ship 20] August 6, 2021 12:56 UTC [07:56 CDT]:

S20 has made first contact with B4.

[Ship 20] August 6, 2021 12:30 UTC [07:30 CDT]:

S20 has started to descend onto B4.

[Ship 20] August 6, 2021 11:57 UTC [06:57 CDT]:

Lifting has started!

[Ship 20] August 5, 2021 19:26 UTC [14:26 CDT]:

The crane is attached to S20.

[Booster 4] August 5, 2021 15:45 UTC [10:45 CDT]:

The load spreader has been removed from Booster 4.

[Ship 20] August 5, 2021 13:45 UTC [08:45 CDT]:

S20 has arrived at the launch site.

[Ship 20] August 5, 2021 12:08 UTC [07:08 CDT]:

S20 rollout had begun.

[Booster 4] August 4, 2021 22:07 UTC [17:07 CDT]:

B4 is on the pad. Teams are now securing the booster to the pad.

[Booster 4] August 4, 2021 21:14 UTC [16:14 CDT]:

B4 is being lowered onto the launch table.

[Booster 4] August 4, 2021 20:45 UTC [15:45 CDT]:

Booster 4 is in the air and will be placed on the Orbital Launch Stand (OLS) shortly.

[Booster 4] August 4, 2021 18:38 UTC [13:38 CDT]:

Booster 4 is ready to be lifted onto the Orbital Launch Pad.

[Booster 4] August 3, 2021 19:30 UTC [14:30 CDT]:

Booster 4 has arrived at the orbital launch pad.

7 comments
  1. Wow great job @everydayastronaut thanks for all you do for the space community and space enthusiast like me. All your hard work is much appreciated. For all spacex fans and space enthusiasts the world over we say thank you.

    Signed @danealDOP

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: